On June 28, 2012, during the installation luncheon of 2012-13 President and Club Executives of the Rotary Club of New Westminster, Michael Crean was presented with the Rotary International Service Above Self Award by DG Hans Doge.  Michael Crean became only the 9th Rotarians in District 5040 to receive this distinguished honour in Rotary.

Michael Crean joins Irwin Stewart and George Sandwith as 3 Rotarians from the Rotary Club of New Westminster to be honoured with the Service Above Self Award. Together, they represent 1/3 of the recipients from District 5040 to have ever been selected for this prestigious award. Congratulations, the Rotary Club of New Westminster! 
(Submitted by Chu Wu, D5040 Assistant Governor -- Burnaby and New Westminster Clubs)

 Image  Image

Michael Crean receives Service Above Self Award from DG Hans Doge

George Sandwith 2007-2008, Michael Crean 2011-2012 and Irwin Stewart 1999-2000

Michael’s older brother, Tom Crean, a Past President of the Rotary Club of Vancouver, was present for this auspicious occasion.  President (2012-13) Elect of the Rotary Club of New Westminster, Kevin Gordon, had arranged for Michael to be the MC of the installation luncheon in order to ensure that Michael would be present to receive this award. 
Rotary International Service Above Self Award Recipients in District 5040. From inception 1991-92 to 2011-12
1992-93           Anup Singh Jubbal                  Rotary Club of Burnaby Hastings
1992-93           Michael Cruise                        Rotary Club of Ladner
1998-99           Bill Richwa                             Rotary Club of Vancouver
1999-00           Dr. Irwin F. Stewart                Rotary Club of New Westminster
2002-03           Shafigue Pirani                       Rotary Club of Burnaby
2004-05           Chris Offer                             Rotary Club of Vancouver Chinatown
2007-08           George Sandwith                    Rotary Club of New Westminster
2010-11           Dean Rohrs                            Rotary Club of Burnaby
2011-12           Michael Crean                        Rotary Club of New Westminster

The Service Above Self Award is Rotary's highest honor for individual Rotarians, recognizing those who have displayed exemplary humanitarian service with a focus on active involvement in helping others through Rotary.  

Each year, current and immediate past district governors and current and past RI
directors may submit up to three nominations for this award. Nominations must arrive at RI World Headquarters by 1 September, and after all nominations are reviewed, the RI Board selects a maximum of 150 Rotarians to receive the award.
In 2011-12, DG Hans Doge and Immediate PDG Penny Offer were the only two persons in District 5040 eligible to make nominations for this award.  Out of the 3 nominations submitted from our district, Michael Crean was the only nomination selected to receive this award from RI President Kalyan Banerjee.
Considering there are more than 1.2 million Rotarians in over 34,000 Clubs and 550 Districts around the world, being among less than 150 people chosen is an incredible achievement and honour.  Congratulations, Michael!  Congratulations, the Rotary Club of New Westminster!

For more information about the Service Above Self Award, please visit
List of Service Above Self Recipients by Districts: http://www.rotary.org/RIdocuments/en_pdf/award_sas_winners_district.pdf
To understand the Criteria and Eligibility for Service Above Self Award, please review the Nomination Form:  http://www.rotary.org/RIdocuments/en_pdf/awards_sas_en.pdf