The Don Evans People of Action Awards are presented to Rotarians in District 5040 who take action to create lasting change in their communities and the world. The awards typically presented by the District Governor at the District Conference and that approximately 10 Don Evans People of Action Awards will be awarded each year.

2019 People for Action Awards as presented by DG Darcy Long

Brian Street  -  Vancouver  “imagination and passion and vision for a new fundraiser”
Angelika Posselt  -  Burns Lake  “tirelessly working through the Postman Group to support firefighting efforts in her community”
Elana Agala  -  Richmond Sunset  “Outstanding leadership and going above and beyond with her arrangements and execution of the Rotary Friendship Exchange to the Philippines”
Jessica Fisher  -  Rotaract Club of Prince George  “for seizing the moments that count!”
Valerie Little  -  Burnaby  “Dreams big and has the desire to take Rotary Act of Kindness worldwide” 
Christine Oatway for her initiative to bring Starfish Pack Program to Terrace,  and Giselle Birch - Starfish Pack Program Champion, Maureen O'Conner - Starfish Pack Program Champion, Ron Malmas - Starfish Pack Program Champion
Murray Wood   -  Whistler  “Defender of Clubrunner Award"  to webmaster extraordinaire Murray Wood
Shirley-Pat Chamberlain  -  Williams Lake  - “Commonwealth Women's Mentoring Program Champion”
Sheila Mortensen  -  Williams Lake Daybreak  “empowering her club through a community project.

2018 People for Action Awards as presented by DG Don Evans

Bill Nichols - Prince Rupert for Championing the Rushbrook Trail
Ron Suzuki - Vancouver Sunrise for Hoop a Thon
Min Kwan - Vancouver for Creating an innovative new model for the  Foundation dinner
Rhonda Gossip - Sunshine Coast - Instrumental for Support Initiatives for Homeless
Brittany Broderson - Gibsons for bring Gibsons Rotary in to the 20th Century of Communications
Kim Wall - Powell River Sunrise Food Bank Fundraiser Extraordinaire
Vasant Lakhani - Burnaby Deer Lake Medical Camp in Uganda
Richard Prill - for Championing a very Special 90th Anniversary Gala
Liz Scott - Squamish for Championing Blessing Bags for Fire Evacuees
Judy Mason - for Initializing and Facilitating Clubs Strategic Plan
Sherrie Jamieson - Tsawwassen for instantly stepping up as District Secretary on her return from a year of overseas travel