Posted by Carina Dietze on May 30, 2018
50 years is a long time and deserves celebration! Boy did our District 5040 Rotaract Clubs celebrate on May 12th during an evening of dinner, dancing, and fun! During the evening we showcased our clubs' projects - past, present, and future. We heard great speeches by District Governor Don Evans, District Governor Elect Darcy Long and District Rotaract Chair Joan Posivy.
District Rotaract Representative (DRR) Johanna Johnson recognized the hard work of this year's District Committee, and took the opportunity to install the new DRR Carina McClelland and all of the new Rotaract Clubs' Presidents. Last, but not least we gave out our Rotaract Awards. Congratulations to our winner of the Bill Richwa Award, aka Outstanding Rotaractor of the Year, Eric Young! The Best Club Project went to the Rotaract Club of New Westminster Rotaract Club for the Charity for Change Fundraiser, which raised $4,037 for the Malala Education Fund and Books for Africa!
We would like to send out a big THANK YOU to all Rotarians who made it to party! We greatly appreciate your support! We would also like to thank Yaletown Rotaractor DJ Kaief Spencer of The Link Intl. for providing us with the perfect soundtrack to our party!
Since the 2017/2018 term is coming to its end, our last meeting will be a dinner on June 12 at the Parlour. We are looking forward to continue developing our great team work with the Rotarians of District 5040 in the term of 2018/2019!